The Oesophagus

Advertisements help pay for this website.  Thank you for your support.

Peritoneum and peritoneal cavity | Main Anatomy Index | The Stomach

Last updated 30 March 2006

The Oesophagus

Back to top

Constrictions of the Oesophagus

  1. At its beginning (C6), formed by the inferior constrictor of the pharynx.
  2. At the point where it is crossed by the aortic arch at level T4.
  3. At the left main bronchus at level T5-T6.
  4. Where it crosses the diaphragm at the oesophageal hiatus (T10).


Important Relations of the Oesophagus

Division Anterior Posterior Left Right
Cervical Trachea
Thyroid isthmus
Left recurrent laryngeal nerve
Longus colli muscle
Left inferior thyroid artery
Left common carotid artery
Thyroid gland
Left subclavian artery
Thoracic duct
Right common carotid artery
Right recurrent laryngeal nerve
Thyroid gland
Thoracic Trachea
Left main bronchus
Left vagus nerve
Right pulmonary artery
Left common carotid artery
Right vagus nerve
Thoracic duct
Right posterior intercostal arteries
Left pleura
Aortic arch
Thoracic aorta
Right pleura
Azygos vein
Coeliac plexus
Abdominal Anterior vagal trunk
Left liver lobe
Lesser omentum
Posterior vagal trunk
Left crus
Back to top

Blood Supply to the Oesophagus


Venous Drainage of the Oesophagus


Nerve Supply of the Oesophagus


Lymphatic Drainage of Oesophagus

Back to top

Michael Tam (c) 1998